Board of Directors

The CMRAO is governed by an independent Board of Directors. The Board is responsible to provide direction and oversight to the affairs of CMRAO and ensure that CMRAO’s performance meets its obligations under:

The Minister of Government and Consumer Services or the CMRAO Board appoints directors who have expertise related to the condo industry and condo law, administrative authorities, regulation, strategic planning, risk management and public policy.  A competency profile (found in Schedule D of the Administrative Agreement) assists with the selection of new board members.

The current directors on the CMRAO Board are:

Aubrey LeBlanc, Chair

Aubrey LeBlanc has extensive executive experience serving on boards for associations in the building industry. He is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Ontario Building Officials Association and is the former Chief Executive Officer and Registrar of Tarion. 

He is the Vice-Chair of the Bereavement Authority of Ontario, and the Chair of the Consumer and Public Interest Panel of the Standards Council of Canada. He was part of the expert panel for the Condominium Act Review and was a member of the Condominium Management Regulatory Authority Advisory Working Group.


John Oakes, Secretary and Treasurer

John Oakes has been involved in condominium management for over four decades. He is the Chair of Crossbridge Condominium Services Limited (formerly Brookfield). 

He has been teaching the Association of Condominium Managers of Ontario’s (ACMO) Condominium Law Course at Crossbridge for 13 years. He was a member of the Condominium Management Regulatory Authority Advisory Working Group and was involved in the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services’ technical consultations on reserve funds, and insurance and licensing. 

Gail Beggs, Board Director

Gail Beggs has more than 30 years of experience in the Ontario Public Service. She has served as Deputy Minister of the Ministry of the Environment, the Ministry of Natural Resources, and the Ontario Secretariat for Aboriginal Affairs. 

She currently serves on the Boards of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation, and Forests Ontario. She is also on the Government Relations Committee of Deaf Blind Services Ontario. She was the Chair of the Condominium Management Regulatory Authority Advisory Working Group.

Kerry Carmichael, Board Director

Kerry Carmichael’s career spans over 30 years in the real estate and retail automotive industries. Ms. Carmichael’s most recent employment was serving as Executive Director of the Retailer Communication Team with BMW Canada, where she managed the relationships between 42 BMW Canada retailers and the manufacturer. Between 1996 and 2010, she was Vice-President of Organizational Development and IT for City Buick Chevrolet Cadillac GMC. Between 1993 and 1995, Ms. Carmichael was a salesperson with Johnston & Daniel Real Estate, where she listed and sold residential properties.

Ms. Carmichael’s community involvement has included 20 years on the board of directors, including as Chair, of the Crossroads Christian Communication corporation. She is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Elizabeth Gibbons, Board Director

Elizabeth Gibbons has almost two decades of experience in public relations, executive communications, and media and stakeholder relations. As Director of Communications for TELUS International, she leads the communications and corporate philanthropy coordination of more than 30,000 team members from locations across North America, Central America, Europe and Asia. She has also held roles as Director of Communications for the Liberal Party of Canada, Director of Media Relations for the Leader of the Official Opposition, Head of Media and Public Affairs for the British High Commission, and Director of Communications for the Ministry of Agriculture.

She has a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Ottawa and is a part-time professor of public relations and government communications at Algonquin College.

Beth Pearson, Board Director

Beth Pearson’s career in the insurance industry spans over 30 years. Most recently she was the Owner and Partner of AP Insurance Brokers. Prior to this, Ms. Pearson was a Partner with Pearson Dunn Insurance Brokers. Ms. Pearson is a Past President of the Registered Insurance Brokers of Ontario and a former Past President of the Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario.

Ms. Pearson’s community involvement includes serving as Vice-President of the board of directors of Wentworth Condominium #368. She is also the Finance and Stewardship Chair of Marshall Memorial United Church and Secretary of the Rotary Club of Ancaster A.M.


Paul Kyte, Board Director

Paul Kyte is licensed with the Law Society of Ontario as a legal services provider (Paralegal) and operates Paul Kyte Professional Corporation. His practice focuses on issues related to the Provincial Offences Act, the Residential Tenancies Act, Small Claims Court litigation, and legal support services. Previously he served as a Provincial Offences Prosecutor with the Ontario College of Trades and interim Prosecutor for the County of Hastings. He is also the property administrator for a private corporation, managing approximately 400 residential rental units across Ontario.

Mr. Kyte was a City Councillor for the City of Quinte West (2003–2014) and sat on and chaired several committees during his time in that capacity. His past community involvement also includes being a past Chapter President of Family Campers and RVers, Team Manager for Belleville Minor Hockey, a member of Kiwanis International, and Auxiliary Constable with the Ontario Provincial Police.