The CMRAO issues four types of licences :

Each licence has specific qualifications, application requirements, conditions and obligations. Individual condo managers and condo management companies also need a licence.

Some people may be exempt from licensing if they are providing services within the authority of their profession (for example, lawyers, engineers, architects, accountants). Find out more information about those exempt from licensing.

The CMRAO has developed a new resource to help potential licensees better understand the definition of condo management services.  Download Do I Need a Licence? Interpreting the Definition of "Providing Condo Management Services"  [PDF - 703 KB]

When and how to apply

On November 1, 2017, the CMRAO began licensing condo management companies and condo managers. The deadline has just been extended - you now have until March 30, 2018 to make an application, after which date it will be illegal to provide condo management service without a licence.

The right licence for you

The CMRAO issues three types of licenses depending on your level of experience and education in condo management. The fourth type of licence is for condo management companies.

Education requirements

The  requirements for each licence vary depending on the education that an individual has obtained prior to November 1, 2017.

Application instructions

Individuals and companies providing condo management services can apply for a licence on the CMRAO website beginning November 1, 2017. The deadline has just been extended - after March 30, 2018, no person or firm can legally provide condo management services unless they have a licence or have submitted a licence application.

Licensing exemptions

Some people may be exempt from licensing if they are providing services within the authority of their profession.

Licence renewal

All Condo Manager and Condo Management Provider licences must be renewed annually. The licence year runs from July 1 to June 30, so the deadline to complete the renewal is June 30.

Insurance requirements

Every licensed condo management company, regardless of size, must maintain errors and omissions, as well as fidelity insurance coverage.

Role of a condo manager

Condo corporations may hire a condo manager (or a condo management company) to oversee the corporation’s day-to-day operations. The manager is accountable to the condo corporation.

Licensing FAQs

Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about the CMRAO's Licensing Program.