Board of Directors

The CMRAO is governed by an independent Board of Directors. The Board is responsible to provide direction and oversight to the affairs of CMRAO and ensure that CMRAO’s performance meets its obligations under:

The Minister of Government and Consumer Services or the CMRAO Board appoints directors who have expertise related to the condo industry and condo law, administrative authorities, regulation, strategic planning, risk management and public policy.  A competency profile (found in Schedule D of the Administrative Agreement) assists with the selection of new board members.

The current directors on the CMRAO Board are:

Aubrey LeBlanc, Chair

Aubrey LeBlanc has extensive executive experience serving on boards for associations in the building industry. He is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Ontario Building Officials Association and is the former Chief Executive Officer and Registrar of Tarion. 

He is the Vice-Chair of the Bereavement Authority of Ontario, and the Chair of the Consumer and Public Interest Panel of the Standards Council of Canada. He was part of the expert panel for the Condominium Act Review and was a member of the Condominium Management Regulatory Authority Advisory Working Group.

 

John Oakes, Secretary and Treasurer

John Oakes has been involved in condominium management for over four decades. He is the Chair of Crossbridge Condominium Services Limited (formerly Brookfield). 

He has been teaching the Association of Condominium Managers of Ontario’s (ACMO) Condominium Law Course at Crossbridge for 13 years. He was a member of the Condominium Management Regulatory Authority Advisory Working Group and was involved in the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services’ technical consultations on reserve funds, and insurance and licensing. 


Gail Beggs, Board Director

Gail Beggs has more than 30 years of experience in the Ontario Public Service. She has served as Deputy Minister of the Ministry of the Environment, the Ministry of Natural Resources, and the Ontario Secretariat for Aboriginal Affairs. 

She currently serves on the Boards of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation, and Forests Ontario. She is also on the Government Relations Committee of Deaf Blind Services Ontario. She was the Chair of the Condominium Management Regulatory Authority Advisory Working Group.


Kerry Carmichael, Board Director

Kerry Carmichael’s career spans over 30 years in the real estate and retail automotive industries. Ms. Carmichael’s most recent employment was serving as Executive Director of the Retailer Communication Team with BMW Canada, where she managed the relationships between 42 BMW Canada retailers and the manufacturer. Between 1996 and 2010, she was Vice-President of Organizational Development and IT for City Buick Chevrolet Cadillac GMC. Between 1993 and 1995, Ms. Carmichael was a salesperson with Johnston & Daniel Real Estate, where she listed and sold residential properties.

Ms. Carmichael’s community involvement has included 20 years on the board of directors, including as Chair, of the Crossroads Christian Communication corporation. She is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Elizabeth Gibbons, Board Director

Elizabeth Gibbons has almost two decades of experience in public relations, executive communications, and media and stakeholder relations. As Director of Communications for TELUS International, she leads the communications and corporate philanthropy coordination of more than 30,000 team members from locations across North America, Central America, Europe and Asia. She has also held roles as Director of Communications for the Liberal Party of Canada, Director of Media Relations for the Leader of the Official Opposition, Head of Media and Public Affairs for the British High Commission, and Director of Communications for the Ministry of Agriculture.

She has a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Ottawa and is a part-time professor of public relations and government communications at Algonquin College.

Beth Pearson, Board Director

Beth Pearson’s career in the insurance industry spans over 30 years. Most recently she was the Owner and Partner of AP Insurance Brokers. Prior to this, Ms. Pearson was a Partner with Pearson Dunn Insurance Brokers. Ms. Pearson is a Past President of the Registered Insurance Brokers of Ontario and a former Past President of the Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario.

Ms. Pearson’s community involvement includes serving as Vice-President of the board of directors of Wentworth Condominium #368. She is also the Finance and Stewardship Chair of Marshall Memorial United Church and Secretary of the Rotary Club of Ancaster A.M.

 

Paul Kyte, Board Director

Paul Kyte is licensed with the Law Society of Ontario as a legal services provider (Paralegal) and operates Paul Kyte Professional Corporation. His practice focuses on issues related to the Provincial Offences Act, the Residential Tenancies Act, Small Claims Court litigation, and legal support services. Previously he served as a Provincial Offences Prosecutor with the Ontario College of Trades and interim Prosecutor for the County of Hastings. He is also the property administrator for a private corporation, managing approximately 400 residential rental units across Ontario.

Mr. Kyte was a City Councillor for the City of Quinte West (2003–2014) and sat on and chaired several committees during his time in that capacity. His past community involvement also includes being a past Chapter President of Family Campers and RVers, Team Manager for Belleville Minor Hockey, a member of Kiwanis International, and Auxiliary Constable with the Ontario Provincial Police.

Conseil d’administration

L’OORGC est régie par un conseil d’administration indépendant. Le conseil est responsable d’assurer l’orientation et la supervision des affaires de l’OORGC et de veiller à ce que la performance de l’OORGC respecte ses obligations en vertu de :

Le ministre des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs ou le conseil d'administration de l’OORGC nomme les administrateurs qui ont des compétences liées à l’industrie des condominiums et aux lois en matière de condominiums, aux autorités administratives, en réglementation, planification stratégique, gestion des risques et politique publique. Un profil de compétences (à l’annexe D de l’accord d’application) aide à la sélection des nouveaux membres du conseil d'administration.

Les administrateurs au conseil de l’OORGC sont :

Aubrey LeBlanc, président

Aubrey LeBlanc possède une vaste expérience de direction, ayant siégé à différents conseils pour des associations du secteur de la construction. Il est directeur général de l’Ontario Building Officials Association et l’ancien directeur général et registrateur de Tarion.

Il est le vice-président de Bereavement Authority of Ontario et le président du Conseil des consommateurs et de l'intérêt public du Conseil canadien des normes. Il a fait partie du groupe d’experts chargé de l’examen de la Loi sur les condominiums et été membre du Groupe de travail consultatif sur l’Office de réglementation de la gestion des condominiums.

 

John Oakes, secrétaire et trésorier

John Oakes œuvre dans la gestion de condominiums depuis plus de quatre décennies. Il occupe le poste de directeur général de Crossbridge Condominium Services Limited (anciennement Brookfield).

Il donne le cours sur le droit des condominiums de l’Association of Condominium Managers of Ontario (ACMO) chez Crossbridge depuis 13 ans. Il a été membre du Groupe de travail consultatif sur l’Office de réglementation de la gestion des condominiums et a pris part aux consultations techniques sur les fonds de réserve, l’assurance et l’octroi de licences, menées par le ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs.

 

Gail Beggs, administratrice

Gail Beggs possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans la fonction publique de l’Ontario. Elle a assumé les fonctions de sous-ministre de l’Environnement et des Richesses naturelles et de sous-ministre chargée du Secrétariat des affaires autochtones de l’Ontario.

Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de la Société des loteries et des jeux de l’Ontario de même qu’à celui de Forests Ontario. Elle est également membre du comité des relations gouvernementales du Service ontarien de la surdicité. Elle a présidé le Groupe de travail consultatif sur l’Office de réglementation de la gestion des condominiums.

 

Kerry Carmichael, Board Director

La carrière de Kerry Carmichael s’étend sur plus de 30 ans, dans les secteurs de l’immobilier et de la vente automobile au détail. Tout récemment, elle a agi à titre de directrice générale de l’équipe des communications avec les détaillants chez BMW Canada. Elle y gérait les relations entre 42 détaillants BMW Canada et le fabricant. Entre 1996 et 2010, elle a été vice-présidente du développement organisationnel et de l’informatique chez City Buick Chevrolet Cadillac GMC. Avant cela, de 1993 à 1995, Mme Carmichael a été agente immobilière chez Johnston & Daniel Real Estate, où elle était chargée de l’inscription et de la vente de propriétés résidentielles.

Au chapitre de l’engagement communautaire, Mme Carmichael a siégé pendant 20 ans au conseil d’administration de la société Crossroads Christian Communication Inc., notamment à titre de présidente. Mme Carmichael est membre de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

Elizabeth Gibbons, administratrice

Elizabeth Gibbons possède presque vingt années d’expérience en relations publiques, en communications de la haute direction et en relations avec les médias et les intervenants. À titre de directrice des communications chez TELUS International, elle dirige les communications et la coordination des activités philanthropiques d’entreprise pour les membres d’une équipe de plus de 30 000 membres répartis en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique centrale, en Europe et en Asie. Mme Gibbons a également occupé les postes de directrice des communications pour le Parti libéral du Canada, de directrice des relations avec les médias pour le chef de l’opposition officielle, de chef des médias et des affaires publiques pour le Haut-Commissariat britannique, et de directrice des communications pour le ministère de l’Agriculture.

Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université d’Ottawa et est professeure à temps partiel de relations publiques et de communications gouvernementales au Collège Algonquin.

Beth Pearson, Board Director

Beth Pearson œuvre depuis plus de 30 ans dans le secteur de l’assurance. Tout récemment, elle a été propriétaire et associée chez AP Insurance Brokers. Avant cela, Mme Pearson a été associée chez Pearson Dunn Insurance Brokers. Mme Pearson a été présidente de Registered Insurance Brokers of Ontario, ainsi que de l’Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario.

Mme Pearson s’est notamment engagée au sein de sa communauté en tant que vice-présidente du conseil d’administration de l’association condominiale n° 368 de Wentworth. Elle est aussi présidente du financement et de l’intendance à la Marshall Memorial United Church, et secrétaire du Club Rotary d’Ancaster A.M.
 

Paul Kyte, Board Director

Paul Kyte est accrédité auprès du Barreau de l’Ontario à titre de fournisseur de services juridiques (parajuriste). Il exploite le cabinet Paul Kyte Professional Corporation. Sa pratique se concentre sur les questions se rapportant à la Loi sur les infractions provinciales, la Loi sur la location à usage d’habitation et les litiges portés devant la Cour des petites créances, ainsi que sur les services de soutien juridique. Par le passé, il a été procureur provincial pour l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et procureur intérimaire pour le comté de Hastings. Il est également administrateur de propriétés pour une société privée où il assure la gestion d’environ 400 unités locatives résidentielles un peu partout en Ontario.

M. Kyte a été conseiller municipal pour la Ville de Quinte West (2003-2014). Durant cette période, il a siégé à plusieurs comités, notamment à titre de président. En matière d’engagement communautaire, M. Kyte a été président d’une section locale de Family Campers and RVers, gestionnaire d’équipes de hockey mineur de Belleville, membre de Kiwanis International et gendarme auxiliaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario.